Below you will find the agenda as well as a list of participants and their bios.


Thursday, June 16

8:30 am Registration, check in and coffee
9:00 am


Opening remarks and introductions

–   Carleen Maitland and Krishna Jayakar, IIP Penn State

–   Jack Brassil, NSF and Francine Alkisswani, NTIA

Francine Alkisswani introduces the speakers

–   Erwin P. Gianchandani, NSF

–   Karen Hansen, NTIA

–   Keith Marzullo, NITRD

Introducing the Rapporteurs and Moderators

– Rapporteur Technology, Jon Peha, Carnegie Mellon University

– Rapporteur Usage, Sharon Strover, University of Texas at Austin

– Rapporteur Impacts, Johannes Bauer, Michigan State University

– Moderator Technology, Carleen Maitland, IIP Penn State

– Moderator Usage, Richard Taylor, University of Hawaii

– Moderator Impacts, Krishna Jayakar, IIP Penn State

10:00 am Coffee Break
10:30 am Concurrent Breakout Sessions: Defining a Research Agenda
12:00 noon Lunch and Keynote – Erica Swanson, Google Fiber
1:45 pm Concurrent Breakout Sessions: Status of Current Research
3:15 pm Break
3:45 pm Plenary session review of work in breakouts

–    Jon Peha, Sharon Strover and Johannes Bauer

5:00 pm Adjourn
6:30 pm Reconvene for off-site dinner and discussion


Friday, June 17

8:00 am Coffee
8:30 am Concurrent Breakout Sessions: Data, Resources and New Research Directions
10:00 am Coffee Break
10:30 am Keynote remarks  – Calvin Johnson, HUD
11:15 am Plenary session: Defining a Research Agenda – Evolving a consensus

–    Jon Peha, Sharon Strover and Johannes Bauer

12:30 pm Networking Lunch
2:15 pm Plenary session: Drafting the Interim Report (Themes, Sections)

–    Jon Peha, Sharon Strover and Johannes Bauer

3:45 pm Break
4:00 pm Closing Plenary: Summary of workshop; Questions, Dissemination of Report and Next Steps

–  Carleen Maitland and Krishna Jayakar

5:00 pm Adjourn


Participants and their bios


Keith Adams Tony Grubesic
USDA Arizona State University
Francine Alkisswani Karen Hanson
Johannes  Bauer John  Horrigan
Michigan State Pew Foundation
Samantha Becker Heather  Hudson
University of Washington University of Alaska
Doug Brake Krishna Jayakar
ITIF Penn State
Jack Brassil Calvin Johnson
Justin Brown Tom Koutsky
USF Connected Nation
Jay Chen Bill Lehr
David Clark Maureen Lewis
Girté Leah  Davis Mark Lloyd
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign USC
Tawanna Dillahunt Carleen Maitland
University of Michigan Penn State
Bill Dutton Giulia McHenry
Quello Center Michigan State NTIA
Valerie Fast Horse Grant Miller
Coeur d’Alene Tribe NITRD
Nick Feamster Helena Mitchell
Princeton Georgia Institute of Technology
Ken Flamm Traci Morris
University of Texas – Austin Arizona State University
Jon Gant Karen Mossberger
University of Illinois Arizona State University
Rafi Goldberg Jon Peha
NTIA Carnegie Mellon University


Stephanie Rainie Nicol Turner-Lee
University of Arizona MMTC
David Reed Kristene Unsworth
University of Colorado Drexel
Robert Rhoads Morgan Vigil
DHS UC Santa Barbara
Steven Rosenberg Scott  Wallsten
FCC Georgetown University
Leila Samy Nancy Weiss
Harmeet Sawhney Jenifer Sunrise Winter
Indiana University University of Hawaii
Jorge Reina  Schement Lynette Yarger
Rutgers University Penn State University
Marvin Sirbu Mariya Zheleva
Carnegie Mellon University SUNY – Albany
Darrell Smith
Sharon Strover
University of Texas – Austin
Erica Swanson
Google Fiber